Image of Mark Phillips (Randall Garrett and Laurence M. Janifer)


Lifetime: 1933 - 2002 Passed: ≈ 21 years ago


American Science Fiction Author


United States

Mark Phillips (Randall Garrett and Laurence M. Janifer)

Laurence M. Janifer was an American science fiction author, with a career spanning over 50 years.

Janifer was born in Brooklyn, New York with the surname of Harris, but in 1963 took the original surname of his Polish grandfather. Many of his early stories appeared under the "Larry M. Harris" byline.

Though his first published work was a short story in Cosmos magazine in 1953, his career as a writer can be said to have started in 1959 when he began writing for Astounding and Galaxy Science Fiction. He co-wrote the first novel in the "Psi-Power" series: Brain Twister, written with Randall Garrett under the joint pseudonym Mark Phillips. The novel was nominated for the Hugo Award for Best Novel in 1960, and published in book form in 1962. Janifer's best known work is the "Survivor" series, comprising five novels and many short stories. The series follows the career of Gerald Knave as he visits (and survives to tell the tale of) planets on the outskirts of the civilized galaxy.

In addition to his career as a novelist and short story author, Janifer was an editor for Scott Meredith Literary Agency; editor/managing editor of various detective and science fiction publications; film reviewer for several magazines; and a talented pianist.

Books by Mark Phillips (Randall Garrett and Laurence M. Janifer)

Brain Twister Cover image

Brain Twister

Science Fiction Non-Fiction
Thriller Suspense Espionage

Originally published as That Sweet Little Old Lady, Brain Twister follows the adventures of FBI agent Kenneth J. Malone as he attempts to unravel the machinations of a telepathic spy. His first problem: how do you find a telepath to catch the first t...