Image of Paul W. Fairman


Lifetime: 1909 - 1977 Passed: ≈ 47 years ago


Editor, Writer


United States

Paul W. Fairman

Paul Warren Fairman (1909-1977) was an American author and editor who made significant contributions to the science fiction, mystery, and erotica genres. He was a prolific writer, producing over 100 short stories and novels under his own name and various pseudonyms. Fairman was also a respected editor, serving as the founding editor of If magazine and the editor of Amazing Stories and Fantastic magazines.

Early Life and Career

Fairman was born in Missouri in 1909. He began his writing career in the late 1940s, publishing his first short story, "No Teeth for the Tiger," in Amazing Stories in 1950. He quickly gained recognition for his imaginative storytelling and ability to craft suspenseful plots.

Prolific Writer and Editor

Fairman was a versatile writer, producing works in various genres, including science fiction, mystery, and erotica. He was known for his ability to blend elements of different genres, creating unique and compelling stories. Fairman also wrote several juvenile novels, often based on outlines by Lester del Rey.

In addition to his writing career, Fairman was also a respected editor. He served as the founding editor of If magazine from 1952 to 1953 and later edited Amazing Stories and Fantastic magazines from 1956 to 1958. During his time as an editor, Fairman published works by some of the most prominent science fiction authors of the time, including Ray Bradbury, Arthur C. Clarke, and Robert A. Heinlein.

Notable Works

Fairman's most notable works include:

  • Ten from Infinity (1963): A collection of science fiction stories that explore themes of time travel, alternate universes, and alien encounters.
  • The Doomsday Exhibit (1971): A collection of horror stories that feature a variety of supernatural and macabre themes.
  • The Forgetful Robot (1968): A juvenile novel about a robot who must overcome memory loss to save the natives of Mars.
  • The Man from S.T.U.D. series: A series of erotica novels featuring a secret agent who engages in espionage and romantic adventures.

Philosophy and Legacy

Fairman's writing was characterized by its imagination, suspense, and exploration of various genres. He was a master of crafting believable characters and engaging plots that kept readers on the edge of their seats. Fairman's legacy lives on in his many published works, which continue to be enjoyed by science fiction, mystery, and erotica fans today.

Interesting Facts

  • Fairman used a variety of pseudonyms throughout his career, including Ivar Jorgensen, Adam Chase, and P.W. Fairman.
  • Fairman wrote several novel novelizations based on popular television shows, including One Step Beyond and The World Grabbers.
  • Fairman was a member of the Science Fiction Writers of America and the Mystery Writers of America.


Paul Warren Fairman was a prolific and versatile writer who made significant contributions to the science fiction, mystery, and erotica genres. His imaginative storytelling, suspenseful plots, and ability to blend elements of different genres made him a popular and respected author. Fairman's legacy continues to inspire and entertain readers today.

Books by Paul W. Fairman

Ten From Infinity Cover image

Ten From Infinity

Science Fiction Novel
Narrative Planets Suspense Beliefs Humanity Earth Human Nature

In "Ten From Infinity" by Paul Warren Fairman, a gripping intergalactic thriller unfolds as a mysterious group of extraterrestrial beings descends upon Earth with a chilling ultimatum. The fate of the entire planet hangs in the balance as these enigm...