Lifetime: 1888 - 1949 Passed: ≈ 74 years ago


American Author



Tod Robbins

Tod Robbins was an American author best known for his bizarre and macabre short stories. He was born in 1888 in New York City and spent much of his life working as a journalist and advertising copywriter.

Robbins' writing was known for its dark and twisted themes, often featuring characters who were physically or mentally deformed. His most famous work is the short story "Spurs," which was adapted into the 1932 film "Freaks" by director Tod Browning.

Despite the controversial subject matter of his stories, Robbins was respected by his peers for his skill as a writer. He believed in the power of storytelling to explore the darker aspects of human nature and to confront societal taboos.

Robbins' philosophy can be seen in his other notable works, including "The Unholy Three" and "Who Wants a Green Bottle?" These stories feature characters who exist on the fringes of society and are often driven to violence and revenge.

Tod Robbins died in 1949, but his legacy as a writer of macabre tales lives on. He is remembered for his contributions to the horror and suspense genres, as well as for his exploration of taboo subjects and marginalized characters.

One interesting fact about Robbins is that he was briefly involved in the circus as a young man, and some of his stories were inspired by the people and events he encountered during his time on the carnival circuit. This background in the circus likely contributed to the vivid and often grotesque imagery in his writing.

Overall, Tod Robbins was a unique and influential voice in American literature, known for his ability to delve into the darkest aspects of the human psyche. His books and short stories continue to be popular among fans of horror and suspense, and his legacy as a writer of strange and unsettling tales endures to this day.

Books by Tod Robbins

The Unholy Three Cover image

The Unholy Three

Fiction Novel
Detective Mystery Adventure Thriller Justice Suspense Criminals Twists Target Deceive Media Silent Film

The book tells the story of a group of criminals who come together to commit a series of daring heists using their unique skills and abilities. It was published in 1925. The leader of the group is a ventriloquist named Professor Echo, who uses his t...