Image of H. Bedford-Jones


Lifetime: 1887 - 1949 Passed: ≈ 75 years ago




United States

H. Bedford-Jones

H. Bedford-Jones was a prolific writer of adventure stories and historical novels during the early 20th century. He was born in Toronto, Canada in 1887 and began his writing career in his early twenties. Throughout his life, he wrote over 100 novels and over 1,000 short stories, earning him the title "The King of the Pulps."

Bedford-Jones' writing was characterized by its fast-paced action, vivid descriptions of exotic locales, and well-researched historical detail. His stories often featured heroic characters who battled against evil forces and overcame seemingly insurmountable odds. His work was incredibly popular during his lifetime, and his stories appeared in many of the most popular pulp magazines of the time.

Despite the popularity of his writing, Bedford-Jones was a deeply private individual who shied away from the public eye. He rarely gave interviews and little is known about his personal life or his principles. However, it is clear from his writing that he was deeply committed to the idea of heroism and the triumph of good over evil.

Some of Bedford-Jones' most notable works include "The Last of the Buccaneers," a historical novel about the life of French pirate Jean Lafitte, and "The Sword of Islam," an adventure story set during the Crusades. He also wrote numerous stories featuring his most popular character, David Rankin, a swashbuckling hero who appeared in over 30 novels and stories.

Bedford-Jones died in 1949, but his legacy lives on through his many books and stories. He is remembered as one of the most popular and influential writers of pulp fiction during the early 20th century, and his work has inspired countless writers and filmmakers in the decades since his death.

One interesting fact about Bedford-Jones is that he was a prolific ghostwriter, writing for many of the most popular authors of his time. He wrote stories under a variety of pseudonyms, including H. B. Hickey, Gordon Keyne, and Allan Hawkwood. Despite this, he remained humble and dedicated to his craft, and his legacy continues to inspire readers and writers alike.


Books by H. Bedford-Jones

Bob Bowen Comes To Town Cover image

Bob Bowen Comes To Town

Adventure Novel
Mystery Action Crime Thriller Courage Investigative Historical Women

It follows the titular character, Bob Bowen, a daring adventurer who arrives in a small western town to investigate a string of mysterious crimes. Along the way, Bowen encounters a cast of colorful characters, including a beautiful saloon singer, a r...

The Arizona Callahan Cover image

The Arizona Callahan

Fiction Novel
Young Action Adventure Thriller Island Life Conflict Fraud

It follows the adventures of Tom Callahan, a man with a checkered past who seeks redemption in the Wild West. The book was originally published in 1923 and has been a popular read among fans of Western fiction. Set in the rugged terrain of Arizona,...

Arizona Argonauts Cover image

Arizona Argonauts

Adventure Novel
Love Young Action Thriller Courage Honor Friends America Outlaw Wealth United States

This book follows the story of a young man named Bill Harkness who sets out to make a new life for himself in the Arizona Territory. Along the way, he meets a variety of colorful characters, including a band of outlaws, a Native American chief, and a...

House of Skulls Cover image

House of Skulls

A slick car and scenic and bountiful ranch to be had for a steal and Yorke Desmond wonders only briefly what the catch is. The man who sold him the property turns up dead and he receives both verbal warnings from people about the ranch as well as th...