Lifetime: 1910 - 1986 Passed: ≈ 38 years ago




United States

Helen Wells

Helen Wells (1910-1986) was an American author best known for her Cherry Ames series of books, which followed the adventures of a teenage nurse. The series was immensely popular with young readers, and Wells's books helped to inspire a generation of women to pursue careers in nursing.

Who was Helen Wells?

Wells was born in New York City in 1910. She began writing stories at a young age, and her first book was published when she was just 17 years old. After graduating from college, Wells worked as a nurse for several years. This experience gave her the firsthand knowledge she needed to write her Cherry Ames books in a realistic and authentic way.

What were Helen Wells's principles?

Wells was a strong believer in the importance of education and opportunity for all. She wanted her books to show young girls that they could achieve anything they set their minds to, even if they came from humble beginnings. Wells also believed in the importance of hard work and dedication. Her Cherry Ames characters are all intelligent, resourceful, and hardworking young women who are determined to succeed.

What was Helen Wells famous for?

Wells is most famous for her Cherry Ames series of books. The series began in 1943 with the publication of Cherry Ames, Student Nurse. The books followed Cherry as she trained to become a nurse and then went on to work in a variety of hospitals and clinics. The series was immensely popular with young readers, and it helped to inspire a generation of women to pursue careers in nursing.

What were Helen Wells's notable works?

In addition to the Cherry Ames series, Wells also wrote a number of other books for young readers, including the Kay Tracey series, the Tracy Twins series, and the Nora Charles series. She also wrote several adult novels.

What was Helen Wells's philosophy?

Wells's philosophy was simple: everyone deserves the opportunity to succeed. She believed that young people should be encouraged to follow their dreams, no matter how difficult they may seem. Wells's books are full of positive messages about the importance of hard work, perseverance, and self-belief.

When did Helen Wells die?

Wells died in 1986 at the age of 76. She is remembered as a beloved author who inspired generations of young readers.

How is Helen Wells remembered?

Wells is remembered as a pioneer in the field of children's literature. Her Cherry Ames series helped to break down stereotypes about nurses and showed young girls that they could be anything they wanted to be. Wells's books are still enjoyed by readers today, and they continue to inspire young people to pursue careers in nursing and other caring professions.

Anything interesting to know about the author?

Wells was a very private person, and there is not a lot of information available about her personal life. However, we do know that she was a strong supporter of women's rights and social justice. She was also a passionate advocate for education and opportunity for all.

Wells's Cherry Ames series is more than just a collection of entertaining stories. Her books also provide young readers with valuable insights into the world of nursing and the importance of caring for others. Wells's legacy continues to inspire young people today to pursue their dreams and make a difference in the world.

Books by Helen Wells

The Clue of the Gold Coin Cover image

The Clue of the Gold Coin

Fiction Novel
Mystery Thriller Reflection Friendship political Detective Fiction Secret

When a mysterious gold coin bearing a cryptic message arrives in the mail, it sets the stage for a thrilling mystery that will keep readers guessing until the very end. When Penny Parker receives a mysterious gold coin in the mail, she's baffled. Th...

Cherry Ames, Island Nurse Cover image

Cherry Ames, Island Nurse

A private duty nursing case takes Cherry Ames to a remote Canadian island, where a mystery surrounds a mining operation. The Cherry Ames series stars a mystery-solving nurse, in the lines of Nancy Drew. The 27 books in the series (1943-1968) were wr...