Book Cover of E. F. Benson


Lifetime: 1867 - 1940 Passed: ≈ 84 years ago


Novelist, Biographer



E. F. Benson

Edward Frederic Benson was an English novelist, biographer, and short story writer. He was born on July 24, 1867, in Berkshire, England, and grew up in a family of writers. Benson was the youngest of six children, and his parents were both famous writers.

Benson's principles were rooted in his belief in the importance of writing as a means of artistic expression and social commentary. He was known for his wit, satire, and attention to detail in his writing, and he often explored themes of social status, gender, and morality in his work.

Benson was famous for his works of fiction, particularly his humorous and witty novels and short stories. Some of his notable works include "Dodo: A Detail of the Day," "The Blotting Book," and "Queen Lucia." Benson's writing was often characterized by its attention to detail, its sharp wit and humor, and its exploration of social class and gender roles.

In addition to his work as a novelist and short story writer, Benson was also a biographer, and he wrote several books about the lives of famous writers, including Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte.

Benson's philosophy was deeply influenced by his upbringing in a family of writers and intellectuals. He believed in the power of literature to challenge societal norms and to offer insights into the human condition. He also believed in the importance of humor and satire as tools for social critique and commentary.

Benson died on February 29, 1940, at the age of 72. He is remembered as one of the most important writers of his generation, and his work continues to be read and enjoyed by readers around the world. Benson's writing has been praised for its wit, humor, and sharp social commentary, and he is considered a master of the genre of satire.

One interesting fact about Benson is that he was openly gay, and he lived with his partner for many years. While this aspect of his life was not widely discussed during his lifetime, it is now recognized as an important part of his personal history and his contribution to the LGBTQ+ literary tradition.

Books by E. F. Benson

The Relentless City Cover image

The Relentless City

Family Marriage Power Satire Struggle Journalism Wealth London Suffering Women

It is a story of life in London during the early 20th century, with a focus on the wealthy and influential members of society. The book explores the lives of several characters who inhabit this world, from the ambitious journalist trying to make a n...

Visible and Invisible Cover image

Visible and Invisible

Horror Fiction
Realism Mystery Exploration Suspense Imagination Supernatural Fiction Haunting Ghosts Haunted

It is an intriguing collection of supernatural stories that will captivate the imagination of young readers. Written by renowned author E.F. Benson, this book takes readers on a thrilling journey through the realms of the unseen and the unknown. Firs...

Colin: A Novel Cover image

Colin: A Novel

Fiction Novel
Romantic Drama Love Social Satire Mystery Suspense Relationships Secret

In the charming world of Colin, secrets are woven into the very fabric of society, and behind the veneer of polite society lies a web of hidden desires and intricate relationships. E. F. Benson, the master of satirical wit, invites readers into a cap...

The Countess of Lowndes Square, and Other Stories Cover image

The Countess of Lowndes Square, and Other Stories

Fiction Novel
Short Story Mystery Exploration Desire Blackmail Complex

Dive into the enchanting world of "The Countess of Lowndes Square, and Other Stories" by E.F. Benson, where ordinary lives intertwine with extraordinary events. From the secrets lurking behind the elegant facades of London's aristocratic homes to the...

Queen Lucia Cover image

Queen Lucia

E. F. Benson was born at Wellington College in Berkshire, where his father, who later went on to become the Archbishop of Canterbury, was the first Headmaster. He wrote 105 books in all.Queen Lucia (first published in 1920) was the first of Benson’s...

Miss Mapp Cover image

Miss Mapp

E. F. Benson's Mapp and Lucia series, consists of six novels and three short stories. The novels are: Queen Lucia, Lucia in London, Miss Mapp (including the short story The Male Impersonator), Mapp and Lucia, Lucia's Progress (published as The Worshi...

Dodo Wonders Cover image

Dodo Wonders

"Dodo Wonders" is the third and last of the "Dodo" novels by E.F. Benson, author of the "Mapp and Lucia" series as well as numerous stand-alone novels and short stories. Dodo was rumored to be based on Lady Margot Asquith; when questioned about it, L...

Dodo's Daughter Cover image

Dodo's Daughter

The second in the "Dodo" sequence of novels. (Summary by Crowgirl)

Dodo: A Detail of the Day Cover image

Dodo: A Detail of the Day

Fashionably controversial bestseller at the time of appearance (1893), portraying London "society" in the Fin de Siècle. Dodo is a young woman who enjoys belonging to the high society. At the start of the book, she is about to make an advantageous ma...

Room in the Tower, and Other Stories Cover image

Room in the Tower, and Other Stories

These stories have been written in the hopes of giving some pleasant qualms to their reader, if by chance, anyone be occupying in their perusal a leisure half-hour before he goes to bed when the night and the house are still, he may perchance cast an...

Lucia in London Cover image

Lucia in London

In the third book in the Mapp and Lucia series, provincial snob and social climber Mrs. Emmeline Lucas, known to her friends as Lucia, and her husband come into a legacy that enables her to expand her reach beyond Riseholme into the highest levels of...

David Blaize Cover image

David Blaize

Written during World War I but set before the war, David Blaize is a coming-of-age story set in an all-boys boarding school. We follow David from prep school to Marchester College prep school, navigating friendships, studies, and the ever-present cri...